Bhishma Nirvana: 58 vs 92+, Phadnis vs. Oak – Part 1

Shri Phadnis has provided criticism of my claim for Bhishma on the bed of arrows for >92 (92+) days, in three parts, on his blog.

The link to his blog is here:

http://mymahabharat.blogspot.com/2015/09/bheeshmanirvan-did-bhishma-spend-95.html

I will respond to Shri Phadnis’s criticism in multiple parts.  I want to thank Shri Phadnis for his enormous efforts in not only critiquing 23 references provided by me (in my book), related to Bhishma Nirvana, but has also for identification of few other Mahabharata references that he thinks are also relevant.

I will include these additional references, identified by Shri Phadnis, in my response.

I also want to use this opportunity to illustrate how a truth claim ( mine or that of Shri Phadnis) can be critiqued, challenged and responded to.  In addition, I want to take this opportunity to discuss key aspects of any theory – consistency, non-contradictions, testability, simplicity, improbability, corroboration and falsification.

Here are our positions:

(1) Shri Phadnis claims that Bhishma spent 58 nights on the bed of arrows from the 10th day of War when he fell down in the battlefield, leading to the day (or day after) of winter solstice.

Shri Phadnis states, and I agree, with the following:

“I do not know of any other researcher, astronomical or otherwise, concluding that Bhishma spent 95+ days on deathbed, other than Shri. Oak. Everyone else has taken Bhishma’s statement before death about spending painful 58 nights as true.”

(only minor correction is that of 92+ vs. 95+.  I have shown that ~23 references of Mahabharata text, leads to the conclusion that Bhishma was on the bed of arrows for >92 (92+) days)

I  consider Bhishma’s statement of ‘he spending painful 58 nights’ as equally true, but reach a very different conclusion than all other researchers, including Shri Phadnis.

(2) My claim is that Bhishma was on the bed of arrows for >92 (92+) days.  In addition, when this evidence is combined with upper and lower limits – as stated – in the Mahabharata text, in the form of lunar months (Kartika & Chaitra), the outcome poses 4000 BCE as the lower limit for the timing of Mahabharata War, independent of AV observation which established 4508 BCE as the lower limit for the occurrence of Mahabharata War.

In next part, I will begin with 23 + ~2 (additional references identified by Shri Phadnis) in a chronological fashion while stating significance of each reference.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

