Role of a unifying idea in a theory

A reader wrote…

“I read your blog regularly. In your recent blog, you wrote down a formula for a quality of a theory by counting things that disagree with your theory. I don’t know if I understand it, but I liked the idea.

One question-confusion I have regarding your statement that your theory is based on unifying idea that all astronomy observations are visual observations of the sky. My question is what is such a big deal about that. Aren’t astronomy observations visual observations of the sky, always?”

My response…

I think that reader is referring to the formula for Verisimilitude or Truthlikeness for theory ‘a’ I wrote down – Vs (a).

The forumula is originally due to Sir Karl Popper.

The big deal about my theory is that I could explain all (>200) astronomy observations of Mahabharata text using unifying idea behind my theory – namely – All astronomy observations of Mahabharata text are visual observations of the sky.

If you read the works of other researchers of Mahabharata, you will immediately realize that all of them either had to take help of multiple ideas/theories in explaining astronomy observations and/or had to deliberately set aside numerous astronomy observations of Mahabharata text, because these researchers could not corroborate these astronomy observations, in spite of, multiple hypotheses they had to resort to.

In the words of Albert Einstein….

“The grand aim of all science is to cover greatest number of empirical facts by logical deduction from the smallest number of hypotheses or axioms.”

Leave a Reply

