Researchers, Seekers, Readers, Critics & Visitors

I categorize, informally and without any motive, individuals who either interact with me about ancient Indian history or write about the very subject, into following categories.

(1) Researchers
(2) Seekers
(3) Readers
(4) Critics
(5) Visitors (to my blog)

This is not an exclusive list.

In addition, unless the person has identified himself/herself by their original name in an open forum (blogs, discussion forums, Facebook, etc.) and unless they have expressly stated that it is ok to mention their name, I refer to them in generic terms, such as listed above.

I do this with direct intention of keeping their identity undisclosed. Of course, This is a decent and an appropriate thing to do. In addition, such a strategy allows readers and participants to focus on the issue/problem being discussed, rather than the people who are arguing/debating/discussing the problem.

Against this background , let me bring attention of visitors and readers of my blog that I wrote a blog article yesterday in which I refer to the person writing to me as ‘A Seeker’.

https://nileshoak.wordpress.com/2015/03/03/bhishmas-method-for-insertion-of-adhika-masa-intercalary-month/

I used the word ‘seeker’ in the sense of ‘seeker of truth’, again in the sense that we all (at least most of us are). I have seen this word being used in that very sprit on forums such as ‘Bharat Rakshak’.

Apparently, he did not me calling him ‘a seeker’ and would have preferred ‘a critic’, instead. Before anyone thinks this is useless nitpicking, let me clarify that this person felt this way because he interpreted my calling him ‘a seeker’ to mean, I was somehow implying that ‘he was seeking something from me’.

He also thought I considered myself a ‘SEER‘. How much I wish that this was true! 🙂

With this clarification of mine and hopefully, elimination of confusion, I want to get back to the critical issues we were discussing.

I thank this individual for brining it to my attention the confusion (and possibly an insult) he felt at me calling him a ‘seeker’. I will use this as a reference note for future when and if such an issue is repeated.

I take this opportunity to let readers, researchers and visitor know that while communicating with me, it would be great if they explicitly mention if they prefer that their name is mentioned. Otherwise they will be ‘seekers’.

And the word ‘seeker’ is being used, and will be used, by me in a ‘honorific’ sense.

As a convention, I do refer to people’s names if they write/comment/critique my work, by mentioning their name in a public forum or in their books or blogs.

Leave a Reply

