Bhishma Nirvana: Two Truth Claims – 22 December 5561 BCE & 31 January 5560 BCE (Part 2 of 5)

Of course, Vartak recognized this problem of thegap of ~40 days from the ACTUAL day of winter solstice (30/31 January 5560 BCE) and his proposed day of Bhishma Nirvana (22 December 5561 BCE).

His solution?

There is really a no solution other than to accept that any astronomy simulation would falsify claim for 22 December 5561 BCE as the day of Winter Solstice.

But this was not the end of the falsification he faced for his proposal for the day of Bhishma Nirvana!

In fact there were many (>20) other Mahabharata references, glaring in the face, related to the chronological events beginning with the first day of the War and ending with the day of Bhishma Nirvana, that would show ‘colossal failure’ of all past Mahabharata researchers. Their casualness and carelessness in researching Mahabharata text has delayed the effort of placing chronology of ancient Indian history on a correct timeline.

To his credit, Dr. Vartak has meticulously gleaned many of these Mahabharata references, critical in the context of Bhishma Nirvana, that would eventually (as is done by yours truly) eliminate the falsehood of Bhishma lying on the bed of arrows for ONLY 58 days and in the process set another falsifying wall of 4000 BCE, as a lower limit, for the timing of Mahabharata War.

But I am going ahead of my intended narration sequence.

Before we look at how Dr. Vartak interpreted these additional Mahabharata references in the context of his claim of 22 December 5561 BCE for the day of Bhishma Nirvana, I want to state what led me to the discovery of these additional 20+ references which in turn corroborate 31 January 5560 BCE as the day of Bhishma Nirvana.

I had begun my Mahabharata journey, as early as 1995 CE, with the zeal to solve mystery of AV observation.  Only in May of 2009 CE, I figured out the secret (no longer mystery) of AV observation.  The demystification also led to well defined time interval (11091 BCE – 4508 BCE) for the plausible year of the Mahabharata War.

Next I began with testing of , with aim to falsify, years proposed by two researchers – Lele (5228 BCE) and Vartak (5561 BCE) that fell within the Epoch of Arundhati (11091 BCE – 4508 BCE).

Employing my theory of ‘All astronomy observations of Mahabharata text are visual observations of the sky’, I tested each and every Mahabharata astronomy observation for years 5228 BCE and 5561 BCE.  In no time, 5228 BCE lost the race, however, 5561 BCE proved its mettle!  The year 5561 BCE, including 18 day timeline proposed by Dr. Vartak, resisted every single attempt of falsification.

And then I came to Dr. Vartak’s proposal of 22 December 5561 BCE for the day of Bhishma Nirvana.  The proposed day was   obviously false, but why?, especially when his timeline (16 October -2 November 5561 BCE) had resisted, successfully, some 200+ attempts (with those many specific astronomy observations of Mahabharata) at falsification.

I quote what I wrote in the book to express my dilemma.

“I had to look for either entirely different year or entirely different explanation.  I felt as if I had reached a dead end.  The difference of more than 1-2 days was unacceptable; never mind the difference of 40 days!  I decided to accept the conclusion that year 5561 B.C., although superior to any other attempt and in spite of being the best approximation to the truth, was at least not corroborated by the Mahabharata observations related to Bhishma Nirvana.”

I spent more than 6 months of intensive testing and  formulating of ad-hoc hypotheses – Julian vs. Gregorian calendar, Kshaya masa (elapsed month), adhika masa (intercalary month), Purnamanta vs. Amanta method of lunar months and what not!  No luck!

This is when I did the following.  Let the passages from my book narrate the adventure…

“I speculated, purely from the idea of truth, i.e. if my theory, and its predictions were independently testable, was also true, my theory would then provide me with successful predictions, and I should able to find observations corroborating my proposed timeline.”

Next….

“I decided to re-read the Mahabharata text, this time, with emphasis on post-war incidents.  I re-read the Mahabharata text, by now a familiar and useful exercise, specifically Bhishma and Shalya and then Sauptic, Stri, Shanti and Anushasan Parvas, looking for any and all observations that would allow me to build the timeline between ‘Fall of Bhishma’ and ‘Bhishma Nirvana’.  I was, by luck, immensely rewarded for my efforts.”

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

