Three Years – Part 1 of 3

June 4 was the 3 year anniversary for the ‘When did the Mahabharata War Happened? The Mystery of Arundhati’.

My apologies for not having dropped this post sooner, but then those who know me closely know well that I am not into anniversaries, birthdays and such. These events do have their own importance and special place. Still I consider limiting oneself to such days… is to miss the rapture of living of everyday existence.

So here it is readers, just over three years ago, I finally decided to publish my first book. Of course the book, only because that is (and was) most convenient and efficient form for me to reach masses with my work.

These three years (and few years prior to that) had been interesting and contentious years for me. I will spare you the details. My work and living situation changed drastically, but now in hindsight, for so much the better.

I officially published my first book on June 4, 2011 and it’s been one of the best things I have ever done in my life. It certainly wasn’t easy.

In spite of zero marketing, in just under 7 months the response has been truly humbling for me. That probably sounds like some standard bullshit an author is supposed to say. Even calling myself an “author’ still feels kind of strange. I have to suppress my facial expressions when others introduce me as “author” during social gatherings. I feel somewhat queasy when people refer to me as ‘Nilesh Ji’. But when I receive emails and comments, or read reviews on Amazon, how what I have written has changed people’s perception of Mahabharata and Ramayana (as documentation of very ancient history.. by academic standards of what they consider ancient history), ‘humbling’ is the only word that comes to mind.

I’ve had more than a few readers ask me if I’ll ever take up writing full-time, and I think the answer is always going to be ‘no’. I never set out to make a book or even writing my livelihood. I make a good living doing what I do, so I don’t need to write a book to supplement my income.

Number of early reviewers of my book told me (pre-publication) that may be 55+ folks of Indian origin might be interested in it. I certainly found many in this age group who showed tremendous interest. What has really humbled me is enormous interest shown by young and old alike and around the world and not just from those of Indian background.

Personally I find this very encouraging.

Leave a Reply

